We are New York City Council Staff who stand together in solidarity to improve the working conditions, treatment, wages, benefits, job security and professional standing of legislative employees; protect all members from illegal, improper, arbitrary or discriminatory treatment; and provide members with a meaningful voice in maintaining a safe and healthful workplace. We affirm these principles and pledge our collective efforts to secure the welfare, dignity and full enjoyment of natural rights for all.


Our effort is comprised of a "core committee" and a larger organizing committee made up of 50+ staffers who are organizing Member offices and other Council divisions. Public members of our campaign include Ndigo Washington (Member Staff), Wilfredo Lopez (Member Staff), and Sarah Crean (Member Staff). There are many more staffers whose identities we are protecting, as per their wishes.


The unionization campaign comes after years (2009, 2016, 2017, 2018, and now 2019) of efforts by Member Aides to improve working conditions at the City Council. On November 18, 2019, a staff organizing committee launched a signature card campaign to request that the new Association of Legislative Employees (ALE) represent them in collective bargaining. Member Aides and other Council staff are organizing around better salaries, a strong voice in workplace decisions, procedures for workplace disputes, and memorializing wins through the security of a written contract. 


In January 2020, Member Aides, Legislative Financial Analysts, and Senior Legislative Financial Analysts reached safe majorities in their card collection, and formally requested voluntary recognition for ALE from Speaker Corey Johnson. Upon recognition, these titles will mark the first ones to be incorporated into the new City Council staff union, ALE, and will anchor the union. Other titles interested in joining and needing more time to organize will be able to join the union in the future. 


We are a group of New York City Council staff - both from the Member and Central staff side - who are educating and organizing our colleagues around unionization.

Please note parts of this website are password protected. Please use the 'Contact Us' page to retrieve and only share with non-managerial staff.

Subscribe to Our Listserve


T: ‪(609) 431-0007‬ (Google Voice)

E: nyccouncilunion@gmail.com

Help us cover the cost of legal fees, printing, materials, & generally funding this effort! Donate to us on Venmo (NYCCouncilUnion) or Chase Pay (nyccouncilunion@gmail.com)